Kings of Leon, Kanye West, Arcade Fire To Headline Coachella, Full Line-Up Announced (From


By THR Staff

The lineup for the 2011 Coachella Music and Arts Festival was announced last night, Jan. 18, with Kings of Leon, Arcade Fire and Kanye West topping the bills for each of the fest’s three nights (April 15, 16 and 17, respectively).

A veritable mish-mash of indie rock, hip-hop, electro-pop and retro cool, this year’s menu, like previous helpings, offers plenty of options. On night one: the Black Keys, Interpol, Robyn, Cee Lo Green and Ms. Lauryn Hill, who emerged from her self-imposed exile in late 2010. Highlights of day two include Animal Collective and Mumford & Sons in prime spots, with Scissor Sisters, Erykah Badu and Broken Social Scene warming up. The final night promises to be a late one with West topping the bill, but the build-up is just as strong and includes the long-anticipated return of The Strokes, a set by Duran Duran, indie darlings The National and ’90s icon PJ Harvey.

Perhaps most promising, however, is the multitude of exceptional rock newcomers from all over the globe, including Australia’s Tame Impala and the Welsh Joy Formidable and a slew of British artists from the Klaxons to Plan B to Ellie Goulding. SoCal is well represented, too, with San Diego’s Best Coast and L.A.’s own Jenny and Johnny and Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti making their way to Indio, Calif.

Check out the full list of bands along with ticket info here.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s